Name: Barley
Age: 1.5 years
Breed: Lab/Shepherd/Hound Mix
Weight: 42 pounds

Hi, my name is Barley! Maybe it should have been “BARKley” because I am a pretty vocal boy, especially when I am excited.

Running is my favourite pastime- I LOOOOOVE to run with my foster Dad when he cross country skies and bikes, and walks and runs and runs!

I am so much calmer with exercise! The more walks the better! I walk well on leash with a collar on but prefer to pull with my harness on. I have good recall off leash.

I love to chase the squirrels in the backyard and would love to chase a cat, a cat wouldn’t like me at all.

I am a very good dog in the house, fully house trained. I am terrified of crates but I don’t need one as I am very well behaved when I am home alone. I don’t get into the garbage or counter surf.

I don’t chew things that belong to my people, except that one sock, one time. But I am very hard on my toys. I am also a little possessive of my toys but am learning not to be. I will need a patient family to continue to teach me to share and would do best with kids old enough to understand this too.

I play well with other dogs once I stop barking with excitement to meet them. I get along very well with my foster sister who is older, and she has taught me lots. I would be fine as the only dog or would be great with a high energy playmate. A home with other confident and tolerant dogs would be ideal.

My foster mom thinks I will be a great best friend for someone as I like to follow her around and be wherever she is. I like to snuggle on the couch with her at the end of the day and am especially cuddly in the mornings.

I am an affectionate, smart and happy young guy who would love a forever home with an experienced family who will have some patience to teach me more manners and who is active to keep up with my energy.

Barley is fully vetted and Neutered.

Dogs: Yes
Cats: No
Kids: 13+

Adoption fee: $650