Name: Durango
Age: 2 years
Breed: Chihuahua mix

Howdy y’all! Durango here, by way of Texas.

A little about myself – I’m cuddly and adorable 2 years old, but I need time to get to know you and trust you. I will likely attach myself to a female family member more than others and I’m still learning that men aren’t so bad. Strangers make me nervous, and I will show fear aggression if someone I don’t know tries to pick me up. An adults-only home is required for me. I love sleeping with my humans (especially under the covers!) rather than in a crate. I accept going in my crate without much fuss but can get a little vocal at times therefore apartment living may not be best for me.

Outside my crate I’m not a particularly ‘yappy guy’ but bark when appropriate, like when someone’s at the door. I love belly rubs and will flop into your arms to nap.

I enjoy playing with my toys so long as you play with me. I’m the type of dog that can be as playful or lazy as you want. I get along with one cat in my foster home, but the other doesn’t like the way I play. I haven’t been tested with dogs but tend to get jealous when I’m not the center of attention so would do best as an only pet.

I’ve come a long way with my potty habits however I haven’t yet figured out how to alert you when I need to go out. I will use a pee pad most of the time but you should expect occasional accidents. You will probably notice from my photos I have a sizeable scar on the top of my head and forehead. My vet feels the most likely cause is as a result of a past trauma.

I promise that with a few days of patience and compassion, I will absolutely melt your heart!


Dogs: no
Cats: no
Kids: no

Durango is fully vetted and neutered.

Adoption fee: $550


Apply here: otowndogrescue.com/adoptions/adoption-application/